Dare to Read

October 18, 2012

My Road to Publication: M.J. Schiller

 

 

 

Today my fellow author at Crimson Romance, M.J. Schiller, tells us about what inspired her in this difficult road to publication.

Please help me welcome her here at Dare to Read.

Hello, all!

On Tuesday of this week I discussed my “Road to Publication” on The Ladies in Red blog, a blog that was set up for all of the Crimson Romance authors.  Today I’d like to tell you a little bit about what got me onto that road in the first place.  For you youngsters out there, this may come as a shock, but…just the other day I was twenty, trying to figure out my place in the world, and the next day, all of a sudden, I was forty, still trying to find my place in this world.  I’m afraid that’s how it happens.  Time passes far too quickly.  When you get to be my age, you start to look around and realize that the rest of your time will go just as rapidly, and you better do something with it.  So you begin to ask yourself The Big Question, why am I here?

As I began to search around for the answer to that question, I ran across Rick Warren’s The Purpose-Driven Life.  (Coincidentally, Warren put forty chapters in his book because, not only is forty the age that you begin to question your life, but it is also a spiritually significant number in the Bible.)  The main premise of Warren’s book, and, of course, I’m simplifying here, is that God gave you your talents for a reason; He wants you to use them.  The book then suggests that you do some thinking and inventory those talents.

I have two skills of which I am proud.  I can fall asleep just about anywhere, at, pretty much, any time.  And, I can write.  Now, I couldn’t see how to work that first one into some kind of purpose for my life, so I was stuck with the writing thing.  ( ;

At about this same time I was watching the Emmy Awards show.  They were giving a lifetime achievement award, post-humorously, to Aaron Spelling.  You probably remember him as the man who gave us such classic television as The Mod Squad, S.W.A.T., Starsky and Hutch, Family, Charlie’s Angels, The Love Boat, Fantasy Island, Vega$, Hart to Hart, T.J. Hooker, Dynasty, Hotel, Melrose Place, Beverly Hills 90210, and 7th Heaven, my favorite being The Mod Squad.  Yes, when I grow up I want to be just like Julie, Pete, and Lincoln.  I also discovered, when looking him up for this blog, that Spelling produced one of my favorite movies of all time, Mr. Mom.  Ho But I digress.

I believe it was Jaclyn Smith who got up to talk about Aaron Spelling and quoted the producer as saying something profound like, “Reach for your dreams.”  I don’t know how many times I’d heard or seen that phrase before, but somehow, that night, it struck me.  Aaron Spelling had once, perhaps, been a geeky, pimple-faced junior high student like the rest of us, but had eventually made himself a household name.  How?  He put his talents to use.

I started writing my first book the next day.

Incidentally, I also read that “Aaron Spelling was so severely taunted by his classmates for being Jewish, he was rendered psychosomatically unable to walk for more than a year,” according to NNDB.  Had he not risen above that to use his God-given gifts, my childhood would have looked a lot different.  So that is what got me started on the long road to where I am now, about to publish my debut novel Taken by Storm.  If you’d like to hear more about that journey, read Tuesday’s blog at http://crimsonromanceauthors.com/ .

Or you can check me out at  www.mjschiller.com or M.J. on Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, Pinterest.

Taken by Storm can be purchased at Amazon, BN.com, and other e-Book retailers.

So, what are your talents?  I’m betting you don’t have anything as cool as super-sonic sleeping power.  Ever have one of those wake up moments like I described above when watching The Emmy’s?  Owe a little push down the road to your success to anyone?

Thank you for your attentive ear today.  Or should I say attentive eye?

Taken by Storm is a romance about Prince Tahj of Avistad and begins with a coup in the palace.  Tahj escapes with his captain, Radeem, and a young woman he finds bound and gagged on his bedroom floor, Bashea.  He falls in love with Bashea, but has to overcome a lot of obstacles to win her love–being on the run from Lord Boltar’s men, facing desert storms, even fighting off a panther.  But perhaps the toughest impediment to their happiness is Bashea’s own insistence that a prince can’t love a sheep herder’s daughter.  If you’d like to hear the rest of their story, you can purchase Taken by Storm at Amazon.com, BN.com, and through other E-book retailers.  Come visit me at www.mjschiller.com.

Check Taken by Storm and other titles at: www.crimsonromance.com

6 Comments »

  1. M.J.,
    Isn’t it it funny where we get our material. I recently had a blog host as me if I use any personal experiences in my work. I thought, ‘don’t we all?’
    Wishing you many sales. You deserve it!
    -R.T. Wolfe

    Comment by R.T. Wolfe — October 18, 2012 @ 8:44 am | Reply

    • Oh, yes. I have two books with lunch ladies in them! I think that might be an untapped character field of occupation. And, it is endlessly interesting. ( ;
      R.T., wishing you all the luck in the world with “Black Creek Burning.” Thanks for your continuous support!

      Comment by M.J. Schiller — October 18, 2012 @ 4:59 pm | Reply

  2. Love your story, MJ! I think its great how we all pull story ideas and material from all over our lives, what we see…even if its only in our heads. Good luck with your release!!

    Comment by kristinaknightauthor — October 18, 2012 @ 10:07 am | Reply

    • Thank you, so much, Kristina! What personal knowledge did you bring to “What a Texas Girl Wants” and “The Saint’s Devilish Deal?” Are you from Texas?

      Comment by M.J. Schiller — October 18, 2012 @ 5:03 pm | Reply

  3. So glad you were watching that Emmy show that night! I got the motivation to write my first novel while touring the Margaret Mitchell House in Atlanta during a day off while on a business trip! You never know when inspiration strikes!

    Comment by Laurie — October 18, 2012 @ 9:40 pm | Reply

  4. Thanks for sharing with us, Laurie! My daughter is currently obsessed with Margaret Mitchell. She just purchased her own copy of “Gone with the Wind” for her birthday. She was telling us a lot about Mitchell and she sounded like an interesting character herself! Yes, inspiration does catch us off-guard, doesn’t it? Have a great weekend!

    Comment by M.J. Schiller — October 19, 2012 @ 2:42 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

