Dare to Read

February 10, 2011

Marketing for Writers. Interview with Shelli Johannes-Wells – 2

Filed under: Author's Interview,On Marketing — carmenferreiroesteban @ 5:45 am
Tags: ,

 

by Carmen Ferreiro-Esteban

 

 

As promised here is the second part of my interview with Shelli Johannes-Wells.

CFE. What kind of blog do you recommend for a published author, one that concentrates on writing and publishing tips, or a personal one that describes her journey as a writer/author?

SJW. I think anyone who does a blog needs to find or give somethign special. My blog gives marketing advice to writers. It was a way for me to give back to the community. But I didnt stumble on this niche until a few months after i started. I think write what you know and love. Dont try to do something you don’t care about or love – it will come across in your posts.

CFE. Do you recommend the author to contact blogs that review your kind of book and offer to send a copy in exchange for a review?

SJW. There are many blogs that give review steps if you want them to consider your blog. I think it’s great to reach out to book bloggers and reviewers as long as you follow their policy in contacting them. Instead of asking them to review a book, offer a blog post on something that helps drive traffic to their site. Do what’s good for them and it may be good for you. Know what I mean? Anyone who goes out there and starts asking for reviews and plugging their book will not get a good response.

CFE. Could you explain the concept of blog tours and guest bloggers to my readers?

SJW. Blog tours – is when an author goes form blog to blog answering questions about themselves or their book

Having a guest bloggers is when you ask someone do a post for your blog.  This tends to be more topic-focused as opposed to interview questions on a blog tour.

CFE. I know you run your own marketing company BILAN. Can you tell us what services do you offer that would help an author increase her sales?

SJW. I do marketing which includes web sites, swag (bookmarks, postcards, business cards etc). I can also provide marketing consulting or even draw up a very specific marketing plan for the author as well. I try to stay away from the hardcore publicity aspect. But if you come by and follow my blog. there is a newsletter that will start coming out that will give you that advice without hiring me 🙂 I also do agent contests as well as marketing contests periodically.

And if you’re serious about your marketing, don’t forget to visit Shelli’s blog at http://www.faeriality.blogspot.com and sign for her newsletter.

2 Comments »

  1. Thank you for the info. It re-afirms that I am on the right track.

    Comment by Kathleen Parry — February 10, 2011 @ 9:48 pm | Reply

  2. Glad to hear, Kathleen.

    Comment by carmenferreiroesteban — February 11, 2011 @ 10:13 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

