Dare to Read

December 15, 2010

Rejection Letters and Christmas

Filed under: On Publishing — carmenferreiroesteban @ 9:16 pm
Tags: , , ,

by

Carmen Ferreiro-Esteban

I received a rejection letter today.

A personal one. One of those ‘It is not you. It’s me’ kind of rejection letter.

The kind that gives you hope.

For agents are way too busy to bother to answer unless they mean what they say. And if they do write you back, I was told, you are almost there.

Or so I want to believe.

Specially because this letter was quite lovely. For a rejection letter, that is.

Dear Ms. Ferreiro, it started.

Thanks so much for your query.  Though your writing is solid, with the plight of the princess and her whipping boy vividly portrayed, I’m afraid I’m not the right agent for this project.

I wish you much luck in getting TITLE published.

All best,

Name

See? I told you it was lovely.

And she even got my name right.

What made this rejection letter even more special is that it was the second one.

No, I don’t mean the second rejection letter I’ve received–I’ve received so many, in fact, that I had lost count–but the second one from that same agent for the same submission.

Weird, I know.

And so I was thinking. You know how in English two ‘No’ means a ‘Yes’?

As in, if I say “I do not want nothing” I’m really saying “I want something”.

And remember how many times your Mother said, “No, of course, you can’t eat that cookie before dinner,” and you ate it anyway as if she had said yes?

So I wonder, could it be possible that this agent meant ‘yes’ by rejecting me twice?

She did write me an awfully nice letter.

And I’m sure she’s very busy, being Christmas and all.

So what do you think? Should I call her and ask?

For Christmas’s sake?

1 Comment »

  1. You’re right, Carmen – as rejection letters go, this is a good one (if there is such a thing). At least you know she actually read your work. Don’t give up. You’re a wonderful writer and some day someone will come along who can help you take the next step. In the meantime – KEEP WRITING.

    Comment by Sandra Carey Cody — December 16, 2010 @ 10:56 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

